Gifted Services

 

Dr. Michele Evans, Gifted Coordinator
Email: mevans@wadsworthschools.org
 

Gifted Intervention Specialists:

Ms. Justine Fechko, Gifted Instructor, Central Intermediate School
Email: jfechko@wadsworthschools.org

Lisa Owens, Isham Elementary
Email:  lowens@wadsworthschools.org

Lindsay Kelly, Overlook Elementary
Email:  lkelley@wadsworthschools.org

Kim Snyder, Central Intermediate School
Email:  ksnyder@wadsworthschools.org

Bryce Weber, Central Intermediate School
Email:  bweber@wadsworthschools.org

Sandi Mueller, Central Intermediate School
Email:  smueller@wadsworthschools.org

Kate Goodrich, Wadsworth Middle School
Email:  kgoodrich@wadsworthschools.org

Allison Parsons, Wadsworth High School
Email:  aparsons@wadsworthschools.org

Kristen MacDowell, Wadsworth High School
Email:  kmacdowell@wadsworthschools.org

 

Gifted students are identified by results received on the IOWA and CogAT tests in both second and fourth grade.  Testing is conducted in November each year; results are generally received sometime in February.  Letters, with results, are sent home at approximately the same time as the district's spring break.
 

Our gifted instructors work hand-in-hand with the teaching staff.  They will add complexity, ask higher questions, tier assignments, and accelerate content.  They will also work on a continuum of concrete to abstract variables and challenge creativity and reasoning abilities in their differentiated classrooms.  The needs of our students are always on our minds.
 

In an effort to provide information to parents/guardians, you will find useful resources listed on this webpage.
 

Academic Acceleration of Advanced Learners and Early Entrance

Below you will find common definitions involved in acceleration.  Referral forms for acceleration and early entrance to kindergarten are available through the Gifted Coordinator, Dr. Michele Evans, (330) 335-1315.

Definitions

Whole-Grade Acceleration:  The practice of assigning a student to a higher grade level than is typical, given the student's age, on a full-time basis for the purpose of providing access to appropriately challenging learning opportunities.

Individual Subject Acceleration:  The practice of assigning a student to a higher grade level than is typical, given the student's age, for the purpose of providing access to appropriately challenging learning opportunities in one or more subject areas.

Examples

Early Entrance to Kindergarten: The practice of admitting a student to kindergarten who has not yet reached the typical age at which students are admitted to kindergarten for the purpose of providing access to appropriately challenging learning opportunities.

Early High School Graduation:  The practice of facilitating completion of the high school program in fewer than four years for the purpose of providing earlier than typical access to post-secondary educational opportunities.

Documents